Mar 12, 2017
0 0

Who is Uttar Pradesh CM ?

Written by

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Parliamentary Board will meet this evening in New Delhi to decide the names of the Chief Ministers in the states where it has got the majority to form the government.

Briefing media in New Delhi, party President Amit Shah had on Saturday said the Chief Ministers would be chosen on the basis of merit and capability.

The BJP had not announced a candidate for CM’s post before the polls, and several leaders are said to be in the fray. Names of some Union ministers from the state, including Uma Bharti and Mahesh Sharma, are also doing the rounds.

There is still a growing demand for Union home minister Rajnath Singh to be the chief minister of UP. He has been CM of the state in the past – between 2000 and 2002 – during the BJP’s last tenure in power in UP.

There have been reports suggesting Gorakhpur MP Yogi Adityanath as a possible contender for the CM’s post in UP.UP BJP President Keshav Prasad Maurya, who comes from a backward community and was closely associated with the Vishwa Hindu Parishad (VHP) during the Ram Mandir agitation, also seems to be in the fray for the crucial post in the state. His appointment as BJP state chief was aimed at garnering support from the non-Yadav OBCs in the state. However, his lack of experience at the top level can go against him.

While these leaders are touted to be the top contenders for the CM’s post in UP, the suspense can be put to an end only by an announcement by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, who has a penchant to spring surprises.


Article Categories:
National · News

Leave a Reply